Book Review ~~ The Tell-Tale Heart ~~

Yesterday I read the book “The Tell-Tale Heart” by Edgar Allan Poe. It’s a short, horror story written in first person about a man who seems mad but says he isn’t. I found it a very interesting, if slightly frightening story with a lot of description about the man’s feelings as he kills and hides the body of another man, confessing to the murder because of his own guilt. The author is able to use imagery and description well enough to make me understand how the narrator felt and why he killed the older man who had always been so kind to him. The use of the narrator’s beating heart to capitalize on and show in detail his guilt was also a good tactic in the author’s writing. I thought it was an amazing story and recommend it to anyone interested in horror stories. I would rate it a 9/10.

Leave a comment