Book Review ~~ The Murder of Roger Ackroyd ~~

A few days ago, I finished reading the book, “The Murder of Roger Ackroyd,” by Agatha Christie. I really enjoyed reading the book, which was full of twists as I tried to figure out who the murderer of Roger Ackroyd was. There were multiple motives — someone had sent Ackroyd a letter about a person who was blackmailing her, and the letter was burnt afterwards. Yet, it could just as easily be someone in his own family or house, desperate for money. Ackroyd was fairly rich, but he was still stingy with his money, often becoming angry if his wife or daughter spent money on unnecessary items. I was intrigued by how Christie was able to write the story in first person, from the point of view of a person who had visited Ackroyd shortly before his death, but still make it seem like third person, not telling the readers everything he did and only explaining some of his actions. The murderer came as a great surprise to me, and I admire Christie for being able to write such a novel without revealing what the narrator had done. I enjoyed reading the story and recommend it to anyone interested in mystery novels with almost impossible perpetrators. I would rate it 9.6/10.

One thought on “Book Review ~~ The Murder of Roger Ackroyd ~~

Leave a comment